Driving Under the Influence
Aggressive Legal Representation
A DUI conviction has the potential to negatively impact your life for months or even years. Depending on how many times you have been charged with this crime as well as the circumstances surrounding your case, you could face a varying degree of punishments. At Schlimgen Law Firm we will not only educate you on your rights but will also construct a strong defense strategy to present to the court.
South Dakota state law prohibits driving while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or an intoxicant. In addition, the law prohibits anyone from driving with a blood-alcohol level (BAC) exceeding .08 regardless of intoxication.
In South Dakota, the maximum penalties for a first offense DUI conviction are up to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $2,000.00 plus court costs. Additionally, a court may decide to revoke your driver’s license for up to 1 year. The severity of your penalties will vary depending on the number of DUI offenses you have been convicted of in the past, your BAC at the time you took a breathalyzer test, and/or the substance you were using. However, every case provides a unique set of facts that should be considered on a case by case basis.